Author Topic: Knot to secure an ATV, so sled dogs can't pull it over  (Read 3070 times)

WhiteFox

Knot to secure an ATV, so sled dogs can't pull it over
« on: September 29, 2019, 10:50:39 AM »
Good morning!

I'm a new person in a fascinating world of knots as well as a new member of this community, so first of all, hello!

My question might be an easy to solve, but here it is. What knot would you recommend to tie an ATV to the tree which is at the same time easy to untie, once to rope is under the tension, preferably with one hand. I'm an amateur, so I've experimented with the Bowline knot, but found it difficult to untie without reversing few centimetres. I would like to avoid it, cause the pack of eager-to-go dogs doesn't expect to run backwards. Please, let me know few variations which you consider appropriate.

Best regards!

roo

• The Notable Knot Index
Re: Knot to secure an ATV, so sled dogs can't pull it over
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2019, 05:16:40 PM »
Good morning!

I'm a new person in a fascinating world of knots as well as a new member of this community, so first of all, hello!

My question might be an easy to solve, but here it is. What knot would you recommend to tie an ATV to the tree which is at the same time easy to untie, once to rope is under the tension, preferably with one hand. I'm an amateur, so I've experimented with the Bowline knot, but found it difficult to untie without reversing few centimetres. I would like to avoid it, cause the pack of eager-to-go dogs doesn't expect to run backwards. Please, let me know few variations which you consider appropriate.

Best regards!
I'll let you try some options and decide what you like.  The Slipped Buntline Hitch and variants are fairly simple and most only require one pass of rope around the tree which would be nice if the tree is large:

https://notableknotindex.webs.com/slippedbuntline.html