Author Topic: Surgeon's modification of Double constrictor knot  (Read 453 times)

Isleofgough

Surgeon's modification of Double constrictor knot
« on: September 16, 2019, 06:10:18 PM »
I wanted to check if this knot has already been described. Adding an extra wrap of the suture around itself at the end of tying a double constrictor increases resistance to slippage about 50%, as measured by a tensiometer. I am thinking about including it in my book on advanced surgical knot tying as a way of securing a drain. A triple constrictor adds little, as the first and third wrap press down on the underlying wrap the same as a double constrictor and the second loop adds little (due to capstan effect). Thanks.

SS369

• Global Moderator
Re: Surgeon's modification of Double constrictor knot
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2019, 06:37:28 PM »
Good day Isleofgough.

The only thought I have on this is the fiddly-ness of drawing it all up tightly. I have no surgery experience and have a hard time imagining using small sutures in the environment it will be used.
Shouldn't a single wrap Constrictor, with your extra wrapped working end suffice?
It could be that doing some wraps before the Constrictor might do a better job of tying off/stemming flow. (?)

SS

Isleofgough

« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2019, 07:35:19 PM »
SS: you are correct that a single wrap Constrictor is adequate for securing a blood vessel. A slipped Granny followed by square knots is also reliable and easy to tie. I wouldn't recommend a double constrictor for tying a blood vessel with fine suture, for the reason you mentioned.