Author Topic: Is knot tying a little addictive?  (Read 210 times)

breadwild

• Designer/developer by day knot tyer by night
    • Business
Is knot tying a little addictive?
« on: April 21, 2019, 03:02:42 AM »
I started tying about 3 months ago and while it was hard at first, now that I'm learning the ropes (sorry) and the lingo, I'm having fun. Today I got to try my first practical knot in the wild. I had to tie a line to a carabiner for a swing for my grandchildren. I'm sure I was overthinking it but oscillated between a buntline, gnat hitch, and double fisherman (I've only "mastered" about 20 knots). They all seemed secure, but the double fisherman was more aesthetically pleasing. All that practice paid off and came off without a hitch (oops, did it a again).

As a web programmer I spend my days staring a screen, but now, every 15 minutes I take a 1 minute break and practice a knot. I've got rope and rings at work, at home, on the bed stand (my wife just rolls her eyes), and I carry a small "kit" in my pocket (attached). So, instead of staring at my iPhone, I tie a knot.

I hope I'm not the only weird one ;)

Brad

« Last Edit: April 21, 2019, 07:40:59 PM by breadwild »
-----
Brad
breadwild@gmail.com

GlasafMT

Re: Is knot tying a little addictive?
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2019, 04:15:57 PM »
Hiya

I do exactly the same!  I'm a programmer by trade and use knots as a rest from staring at a screen.

I think I saw that you use Animated Knots?  Have a look a the Palomar Knot for tying a line to a loop - it's a lovely knot!

Lee

breadwild

• Designer/developer by day knot tyer by night
    • Business
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2019, 04:27:31 PM »
Lee,

I have looked at the Palomar (highly rated for security) but most of my applications would not allow slipping that final loop over the ring or hook. It only seems to work if you are not tying it to a fixed point.

BTW, I also like netknots.com and have the Knots 3D app on my iPhone.

Brad
-----
Brad
breadwild@gmail.com