Author Topic: End loops, tight or loose, why when and how  (Read 312 times)

blgentry

End loops, tight or loose, why when and how
« on: January 17, 2019, 04:08:22 PM »
Hello,

I'm new to knot tying but have been enjoying learning about it for a few months.  As I've learned things like the bowline, perfection loop, anchor hitch, and scaffold hitch, I've wondered about loop knots that cinch up tight to the object, as opposed to fixed loops that stay the same size and are usually not tight to the object, but have a gap of some size.

Initially I was trying to find a knot that I could cinch up really tight to an object, but also secure it so that it could not become looser with shaking, tugging, etc.  When I found no knots like this, I started tying strangle knots and things like that to secure my slip knot into a "won't slip" knot.

But then it hit me:  Maybe this knot doesn't exist because it has no purpose.  Which made me realize, I don't know why I would want a tightly fastened loop versus a fixed loop.  For really basic applications, like securing a load to a truck with a trucker's hitch, the loop could be tight or loose.  It wouldn't matter as long as it stays tied.

But maybe there are other uses for tightly fastened loops that I'm not aware of.  Or more importantly, places where a tightly fastened loop is actually bad.

So I'm here to ask about end loop application concepts.  Where to use loose, where to use tight.  ...and any other discussion that might be relevant.  For example, "ring loading" which puts stress on the loop as if you were trying to pull the ring apart with your hands.  I've noticed that this seems to "roll" the perfection loop as well as the Zeppelin loop.  ...and I don't know if that kind of "ring loading" is common, and/or if those knots are good or bad in that application.

Thanks for reading.

Brian.

roo

• The Notable Knot Index
Re: End loops, tight or loose, why when and how
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2019, 04:31:07 PM »
Hello,