Author Topic: Question about knot choice...  (Read 552 times)

Urangme

Question about knot choice...
« on: February 03, 2018, 05:58:09 PM »
Hello folks, I'm a complete newbie to tying knots and am finding myself stuck on a project.

Hopefully it's okay to ask for advice here (I've also been researching on the web and have ordered a couple books on knots to try to educate myself).

I have a project that needs a turks head or pineapple style knot (I think) to cover something shaped like a small football with the ends cut off. The object is about 2" in diameter at its widest point and the area I want to cover is about 2.5" long.

I've seen some jigs that look like they might work (from jigpro) specifically the 3 nested bite 2" jig, but I'm unsure if the knots will do a few things I need/want them to do:

a) I need full coverage (tying in 1/8 paracord) without much in the way of gaps
b) I need the ends of the knot (I don't think collar is the right word here, but it is what intuitively feels like the right word to me) to tighten down a bit more than the middle of the knot

I've been poking at freekingsweetapps's advanced grid maker to try to nail down a knot, but am a bit overwhelmed.

Any advice welcome, and if I've overstepped bounds by showing up here and asking this question, please let me know and I'll show myself the door.

Kind regards!

Wed

Re: Question about knot choice...
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2018, 05:37:27 AM »
In order to cover a compound radius, you need at least an "over two, under two" coverage. Or what the weavers call twill. Knotters would call it a pineapple. That will be pliable enough. "over four, under four, even more so (satin). But then it will become less stable.

Do look up pineapple knots, barber poles and other combinations.

Still, as strands stretch out over a larger area, you may have to add more goods around the equator with the help of an interbraid.