Author Topic: Skinny Bend??  (Read 3139 times)

detroittyer

Skinny Bend??
« on: January 31, 2014, 12:23:54 AM »
Hi, I'm new to knot tying so forgive my general lack of knowledge. I've been tying for about a year from information found on websites.  I recently was experimenting with knots formed from multiple twists.  Several knots based on this tying strategy seem possible with the simplest of these shown below.  (I've also included an expanded form of the knot to show the geometry better.)

This knot seems really easy to tie (it's best quality), moderately easy to undo (others may disagree), and reasonably secure (for paracord at least).  It also strikes me as fairly streamline compared to other bends. 

I?m guessing it is known based on its simplicity, but I can't identify it.  The bottom of the knot has a nice pattern that should help.

Can someone please help me identify this knot so I can learn more about its strengths and weaknesses or if new, to continue to tests it?  Thanks in advance!
« Last Edit: January 31, 2014, 03:57:06 AM by detroittyer »

xarax

Re: Skinny Bend??
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2014, 01:03:48 AM »
   By all means, test it, please ! There are no tests whatsoever for any bend, old or new - and I am exaggerating infinitesimally only here !   :)
   It can be dressed in two distinct forms, the "Short" and the "Long" - two forms that can well be considered as two different knots, because the difference in the geometry, for such a simple shape, is huge, and the locking mechanism of the Tail ends is quite different. Which slips less, and/or is stronger ? Who knows ? Most probably no-one, because nobody has tested them, ever !
   Variations of the Double Harness bend, one of the simplest bends to tie, as you have noticed, but also in its form, have been presented in this Forum a number of times.