Author Topic: Knot display boxes  (Read 6161 times)

drjbrennan

• Exp. Member
Knot display boxes
« on: November 13, 2004, 03:07:07 AM »
I am quite new to knotting, but have already noticed that a lot of the display or shadow boxes of knots on sale on the internet and in shops have wrongly labelled knots.
Have other members noticed this?
Do the makers simply stick the plates on at random?

If I knew how to attach a graphic to this post I'd show you one.
IGKT Member

knot_tyer

Re: Knot display boxes
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2004, 03:31:21 AM »
hello drjbrennan......there are a lot of these knot boards
on eBay.....probably mass produced.....some are actually
fairly nice!....knot names around the world can be very
confusing!!....i try to keep a close eye on eBay: knots
....i've found some very interesting items there!!..
Dan-Alaska
http://knotical-arts.com/ebay.html

knot_tyer

« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2004, 07:46:52 AM »
...there are knot boards and there
are knot boards!...Dan-Alaska

http://www.artmarketing.com/gallery/nauticalframes/index.html
« Last Edit: November 13, 2004, 07:48:27 AM by knot_tyer »

KnotNow!

• IGKT-PAB PAST PRESIDENT
« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2004, 08:51:41 PM »
I reread my earlier post and was embarrased, so I removed it.  I know many very talented knotters who make lovely knot boards.  I offer my appologies to all who read my earlier remarks.  I think that because there are some knot boards and display tables made just for sale in "boaty" shops and waterfront gift stores that these are not representative of the real thing.  Some of the labels are very funny.  Some of the selected knots are even funnier.  Yes, I visited the picture frame web site and invited the maker to join IGKT-PAB (which also requires IGKT membership).  He'll be one of us soon!  Now, if you took one of thoes frames and made a lovely series of knots.... that would be a knot board deserving of engraved sterling name tags! :D
ROY S. CHAPMAN, IGKT-PAB BOARD.

Fairlead