Author Topic: Which knots to know?  (Read 50978 times)

Festy

• Exp. Member
Which knots to know?
« on: June 10, 2013, 10:10:58 PM »
"A stranger is just a friend you do not know"  ;)

Hi friends,

I'm a complete novice at tying knots having only recently become interested in the genre. I find that tying a knot in a piece of paracord while waiting for, say a dental appointment or the like, to be wonderfully calming.

I've been lurking here awhile and have absorbed a lot of 'knotty' information, but I still find that in any given scenario which requires a knot, I am sometimes at a loss to know which is the best one to use, because there are so many to choose from.

So, may I make so bold as to ask the following question -

- supposing that some higher power decreed that you would only be allowed to use 5 knots for the remainder of your life, which 5 would cover all contingencies, or if indeed 5 would be enough?

- Festy  :)

roo

• The Notable Knot Index
Re: Which knots to know?
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2013, 11:27:05 PM »
"A stranger is just a friend you do not know"  ;)

Hi friends,

I'm a complete novice at tying knots having only recently become interested in the genre. I find that tying a knot in a piece of paracord while waiting for, say a dental appointment or the like, to be wonderfully calming.

I've been lurking here awhile and have absorbed a lot of 'knotty' information, but I still find that in any given scenario which requires a knot, I am sometimes at a loss to know which is the best one to use, because there are so many to choose from.

So, may I make so bold as to ask the following question -

- supposing that some higher power decreed that you would only be allowed to use 5 knots for the remainder of your life, which 5 would cover all contingencies, or if indeed 5 would be enough?

- Festy  :)