Author Topic: testing physical theories of knots  (Read 20525 times)

bcrowell

testing physical theories of knots
« on: November 24, 2012, 03:51:40 AM »
I'm a physicist with an interest in rock climbing, and recently I've been getting interested in the physics of the conditions under which friction is strong enough to make a knot hold. There is a huge mathematical literature on knot theory, but much less on actual physical knots and how friction makes them hold together. There is a little bit of published work on this topic -- I've been able to find two papers, which I've referenced below for anyone who wants to look them up. (Neither is available online, unfortunately, except behind a paywall.) Both of these papers are almost 100% theoretical, and it seems to me that it would be worthwhile and fun to test whether their predictions are even correct.

Two predictions in the Maddocks paper are that a square knot fails if the coefficient of friction is less than 0.24, whereas the magic number for a sheepshank is 0.09. They also have some predictions about hitches. I'm posting because I'm interested in finding out if folks here can give me any pointers in trying to test this stuff, e.g., in how to locate cheap ropes with a variety of coefficients of friction.

To test the predictions, the materials I was able to come up with around the house were some nylon rope with a coefficient of friction of about 0.22 and some teflon plumber's tape, which I twirled to form it into a thin cord. Teflon on teflon is supposed to have a coefficient of friction of about 0.04.

Square knots held with the nylon but failed with the teflon. Although this appears to be contrary to the prediction of the theory in the case of the nylon, I'm not sure what the margin of error is on my own determination of the coefficient of friction, and the paper clearly presents the prediction only as a rough estimate.