Author Topic: WHIPPING  (Read 2260 times)

BKspirit

WHIPPING
« on: July 19, 2011, 02:42:10 AM »
Hello All-

I'm new to your Guild and was very pleased to find it! I've been sailing for many years with my husband Peter. Peter is now ill and I'm building a new business, making jewelry, pet collars + belts out of colorful nautical line. MY PROBLEM: I need to speed-up the whipping process>  I'm looking for a machine or an instrument to whip 3/16", 1/4" and 3/8" line. ANY IDEAS?

Many Thanks,
Beth

bowline

Re: WHIPPING
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2011, 07:41:36 AM »
Gudday Beth
Don't know if it is of any help but two devices I have used for holding thread for whipping thin cord are the Tatting Bobbin and the Fly Tyer's bobbin. Both can hold a reasonable length of thread and are not terribly expensive. Fly Tyer's has advantage that it uses sewing machine bobbins--- so you can load up a whole series with different threads.
Cheers
Frank

BKspirit

« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2011, 02:29:15 PM »
Thanks for the advice bowline!

Rrok007

« Reply #3 on: July 20, 2011, 02:34:59 PM »
Have you considered employing the neighbor kids? $0.10 towards the ice cream man for end whipped... Gets the work done for you, gives the kids work experience (and maybe gets them interested in ropework!) and helps keep the ice cream man employed.

BKspirit

« Reply #4 on: July 20, 2011, 03:06:06 PM »
Hello Rrok007,
You are so right! That was my first thought, to help the local teenagers... I really want to help build jobs in this economy too. But, I have a potential large retail client and I'll have to be nimble and able to fill (hopefully) large orders. I'm very excited about this venture and I am trying to keep everything authentic (waxed twine, marine-grade hardware, etc). I will see how it goes and let you know- it all depends on demand. Thanks for your comments and help!

BKspirit

« Reply #5 on: July 20, 2011, 03:11:37 PM »
Hello Rrok007,