Author Topic: new stopper knot ???  (Read 9307 times)

scott

new stopper knot ???
« on: January 05, 2006, 04:20:36 PM »
   is this a named knot?start with line running from rt. to
left.grasp line with left hand about 6 inches from end,wrap standing end around left thumb 3 or 4 times,
like you would the Steve Dover knot,now take the end in your left hand and wrap it around to the right side and tuck it into and through all the wraps and out the other end.dress and set.I'm new at this knot thing and I dont have ant books to help me name this knot.but I get to name it first !

roo

• The Notable Knot Index
Re: new stopper knot ???
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2006, 09:21:15 PM »
To make things clear, could you draw a picture of what you're describing?
If you wish to add a troll to your ignore list, click "Profile" then "Buddies/Ignore List".

knudeNoggin

• Exp. Member
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2006, 06:58:54 PM »
  is this a named knot?start with line running from rt. to
left.grasp line with left hand about 6 inches from end,wrap standing end around left thumb 3 or 4 times,
like you would the Steve Dover knot,now take the end in your left hand and wrap it around to the right side and tuck it into and through all the wraps and out the other end.dress and set.I'm new at this knot thing and I dont have ant books to help me name this knot.but I get to name it first !
Words can work but you need good words.
"running from rt. to left." means the (bitter) end is on the left, SPart rightwards?

"wrap standing end around left thumb"
Is the wrapping to be of the (indefinitely long--maybe attached to a pole, say) SPart,
and around both thumb AND END, wrapping LEFTwards.

"Steve Dover" = "Stevedore"
In the Stevedore stopper, the SPart u-turns and now as end wraps around itself.
Above, is the SPart to wrap back around thumb and end similarly?  (Though
leaving the SPart ultimately still leading rightwards, after final turn/wrap.)

"now take the end in your left hand"