Author Topic: Anyone ever seen this one?  (Read 9195 times)

Erickson

Anyone ever seen this one?
« on: February 11, 2010, 10:16:54 PM »
I teach knot tying to scouts, and we put up a lot of tents for the Cub Scout resident camp, so I end up teaching the Taut-line again and again. A lovely knot. My only complaint is with young scouts in a hurry keeping the coils tight prior to tightening can be a handful. So I, sitting with rope in hand between classes (what else would a knot head do?), came up with this. It's simple, effective, and surely been tied before. It's just that I can find it in no book. I've drawn it up (I'm an architect by trade) so you can play with it. It's dead useful; I use it for binding, and hitching, as well as a substitute taut-line. Don't get me wrong, it is NOT the right choice necessarily for these other uses, but it is my baby. :)

Let me know what you make of it.

K-
« Last Edit: February 12, 2010, 09:10:41 PM by Erickson »

sharky

• Sharky
  • Exp. Member
Re: Anyone ever seen this one?
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2010, 10:23:19 PM »
Don't know that I have ever seen that hitch before, but looking at the architecture, it seems to make sense in that there are 4 points of friction, and it looks nice too...
Sharky

Erickson

« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2010, 10:34:12 PM »
I actually thought it out before trying to tie it. I was looking for something that would put more and more pressure on the standing/running part as the tension was increased. The figure eight shape with the crossing of the working end did the trick. It works sort of like one of those belaying thing-a-ma-jigs.

K-

roo

• The Notable Knot Index
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2010, 11:28:27 PM »
It doesn't look very familiar, however if you shift the free end around slightly, you can see that the "hitch" made around the standing part of the rope is a lark's head/girth hitch/cow hitch with one half given an extra twist.