Author Topic: Newbie tying a ring on a necklace  (Read 19780 times)

Hykue

Newbie tying a ring on a necklace
« on: November 18, 2009, 11:59:34 PM »
Hello, all.  I'm sure I should be able to come up with this myself, but I can't seem to.  I want to tie a ring (of the finger kind) onto a necklace.  The cord is called rattail by sewing people, and it's slippery and woven (is that laid?  What do I know?).  It's important that the ring and the cord be parallel.   I would also prefer that the knot be either small and unobtrusive or else decorative.  The knot can be permanent, but it's not essential that it be secure, as long as the ring can't fall right off the necklace.  Otherwise a cow hitch would work just fine.  It doesn't matter much whether the knot is snug against the ring or has a bit of play.  I hope I described this well enough, I have little experience talking about knots.  If more information is required, let me know.  Thanks in advance, knot gurus.

roo

• The Notable Knot Index
Re: Newbie tying a ring on a necklace
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2009, 01:27:42 AM »
Hello, all.  I'm sure I should be able to come up with this myself, but I can't seem to.  I want to tie a ring (of the finger kind) onto a necklace.  The cord is called rattail by sewing people, and it's slippery and woven (is that laid?  What do I know?).  It's important that the ring and the cord be parallel.   I would also prefer that the knot be either small and unobtrusive or else decorative.  The knot can be permanent, but it's not essential that it be secure, as long as the ring can't fall right off the necklace.  Otherwise a cow hitch would work just fine.  It doesn't matter much whether the knot is snug against the ring or has a bit of play.  I hope I described this well enough, I have little experience talking about knots.  If more information is required, let me know.  Thanks in advance, knot gurus.