Author Topic: What are these two knots called?  (Read 9261 times)

WalstonNet

What are these two knots called?
« on: April 29, 2008, 06:56:01 PM »
Ok, I just found this forum last night and I'm hoping it is going to be my saving grace.

So, I need help identifying two knots.

I recently purchased this ankle bracelet for $25. It was $25 because the hearts are real Jade. I could care less about the Jade, but can't find any other bracelets like it with just regular beads. I'm pretty crafty, and I've done a lot of arts and crafts projects in my day, so I thought I would just make me some more with some pretty thread and some of the tons and tons of beads I already have.

The problem is I am not good at figuring out knots. Once I have a pattern I'm ok, but I don't know how to recreate them, so I figured if I can identify them, it will be much easier to find a pattern for them and I can then make me a wider variety of ankle bracelets with different color threads and a variety of beads.

The knot that looks like a macrome knot is a slip knot that if you pull on the strings it tightens/loosens the bracelet. I think it's also importanat to note that it "looks like" that skip knot isn't joined to the strings at all, it looks like the strings just go through it but aren't attached to it. So making that one and cutting it off at the ends without messing it up ought to be very interesting. I bet I go though a lot of thread before I even get one bracelet done, LOL! So, I need to know what this knot is called so that I can find instructions for recreating it. The other knot I need to identify goes from where the beads end and is made with what looks like two strings cause that's how many are coming out at the end, but that confuses me a little bit cause how do you get a rope knot like that with just two strings?